Chairman's Report

2018 SGUK Awards Ceremony, House of Lords, 28th January 2019

I just wanted to say that the awards ceremony held in the House of Lords on January 28th was well worth the effort and all the hard work that the Organisation Team and the Awards Working Party have put in.

The introduction of the Innovation awards section has helped to boost flagging interest over the last few years.

For Innovation, The Lord Cullen Trophy went to Dundee and Angus College for their entry on Asbestos and the involvement of Students in a project which utilised LOCHER concept as a learning tool – further details of the D&A project and LOCHER can be found on our website. As the home group of D&A College, Tayside Integrated Safety Association was also awarded the Albert Porter Rose Bowl. Second place, the SCOS Trophy in the Innovation category went to Celtic Energy from the South and West Wales Safety Group, and third, the Stevenson Shield went to Swansea Council, also members of S&WWSG.



Dundee and Angus College



Tayside Integrated Safety Association



Celtic Energy



Swansea Council

Several entries were categorised as Highly Commended (Grangemouth Contractors Safety Alliance; JSP; NIS; Safe Step and Swansea University) and Commended (Birmingham Environmental Health and Safety Association; Performance Cycling; Qualitek; Welsh Water; and Scottish Canals)

This was the first year the Innovation awards were done, and also the first year that those local groups with award schemes of their own were given the opportunity to enter their respective award winners for the SGUK awards.

The previously known Alan butler Awards, now called the SGUK Excellence Awards was also well supported, with Gold Awards for: Hereford Safety Group; London Safety Group; Northern Ireland Safety Group; South Cumbria Safety Group and South and West Wales Safety Group: The overall best Gold Award Winner is the Northern Ireland Safety Group, who were presented with the Alan Butler Award.

Silver Excellence Awards were presented to Bradford, East Anglia, Humberside, Tayside, Wiltshire and Kent Safety Groups.

The final category of Awards is for outstanding service to a nominated person's home group, the Maurice Adamson Award; this was presented by last year's winner Claire Oakes from North West Construction Safety Group to a worthy winner from the Harrogate Group, Sylvia Ellis.



L-R: Norman Stevenson, Chair; Lord Cullen of Whitebirk, Lord Brougham & Vaux, SGUK President, Sylvia Ellis Harrogate & District Health & Safety Forum and Claire Oakes, NW Construction Safety Group previous winner; Ian Coombes, SGUK Trustee

The Excellence Awards were presented to the winners by Lord Brougham and Vaux, and the Innovation Awards were presented by Lord Cullen of Whitekirk

Traditionally, we have held an open SGUK meeting in one of the committee rooms, where bronze and silver AB certificates were presented, then under some time pressure, we were ushered down to the Cholmondeley Room for lunch and presentation of the Gold AB awards and the overall AB Award, still under some time pressure: This year, we decided to do away with the open meeting, extend the time allowed in the Cholmondeley Room, show some presentations from the short list of Innovation winners and do all the various presentations described above in a single place. This new arrangement paid dividends, and we have received nothing but positive compliments for our efforts however, we have plans for even more improvements for next year, yet to be revealed, so watch this space, it will be bigger, and better again and again until we get it right, we will not rest on our laurels.

Another highlight of the day was the signing of a long overdue updated version of the Memorandum of Understanding between SGUK and iIRSM



Andy Hawkes, IIRSM President and Norman Stevenson SGUK Chairman signing MOU, witnessed by Mike Nixon SGUK Treasurer and Philip Pearson IIRSM CEO

All of the above would not have been possible without the dedication of the Board, the Secretariat, our supporters and sponsors, but more importantly the contribution made by all of the local groups and their members that entered for the Innovation Awards, a huge thank you to all concerned. I am personally looking forward to next year's awards already.

Norman Stevenson Chairman Safety Groups UK

