SGUK Awards - What are they?BHSEA with their Gold Alan Butler Award 2014

The SGUK awards are an opportunity to recognise, celebrate and communicate the success of Safety Groups and individuals.

SGUK has two Award Categories:


The Alan Butler Awards

Sponsored by BT logo

Alan Butler

Alan Butler represented the Sheffield Occupational Health and Safety Association on the National Health and Safety Groups Council (now SGUK) from July 1985. He served as a Vice Chairman of the Council from October 1991 to October 1993 and served as Chairman of the Council from October 1993 until his untimely death on 17 August 1995.
One of his ideas was to encourage high standards of work in individual Groups and to recognise this by publicising their achievements across the Groups movement. His successor as Chairman, Roly Buss MBE, proposed that it would be fitting to rename the Awards Competition, which Alan had established in 1995, as the Alan Butler Awards and this was approved by Council at its meeting on 25 January 1996.


The Award

The Alan Butler Awards celebrate the acheivements of the Safety Groups.

All Safety Groups who are members are SGUK are invited to enter.

Entries are now invited for the 2015 Awards. Please see How to Enter.

What you receive


The Maurice Adamson Award

Maurice Adamson

Maurice Adamson worked tirelessly for over 20 years in improving the standards of health and safety ensuring workers stay safe. He was the driving force behind the committee of the Teesside Safety Group and supported the North East SHE Partnership on a day to day basis, as well as organising many seminars and SHE events across the region. SGUK introduced the award in remembrance of Maurice Adamson sadly passed away in February 2010.

The Award

The Maurice Adamson Award recognises the 'Outstanding contribution from an individual to the Safety Groups Movement'
Any elected member of a Safety Group's Committee is invited to nominate an individual for the Maurice Adamson award.

Nominations for the 2015 award are now invited. Please see How to Enter.


What the winner receives